why it’s good to make an effort at what you look like even if you’re going nowhere

snow in trees

I was thinking for a while what would be the best angle for this post. The title says one thing, the pictures another and what I really want to write about is a whole different story. At first I intended to write about tłusty czwartek, which is a Polish Christian tradition similar to the much better recognised Mardi Gras, yet falling on a Thursday and less related to partying.  This was the plan when that’s all there was to today, just a Polish fat Thursday.

As the day was beautiful, sunny and with a clean, fresh snow cover, (even in the centre of Warsaw) I thought I’d additionally show some of the pretty sites I came across today. But then something happened and changed my idea. A stranger on the street and his comment; a half a minute lasting exchange of words. It made my already happy day (I’m always happy when it’s sunny and snowy) even more happy. I guess the winter scenery, the pretty Warsaw sites and the occasion of our peculiar ‘fat Thursday’ are now just the background for what I will write about. The background would have been substantial enough for a post, but will remain just that, an unrelated, coincidental background.

śnieg na Racławickiej

I had to run some errands at midday and was supposed to buy pączki, the special sweets we Poles eat all year round, but precisely on Fat Thursday, we go crazy queueing for hours to buy.  They are round dough cakes filled with jam (my favourite is the very aromatic rose jam), deep fried in oil, dipped in icing and sprinkled with caramelised lemon skin.

Rondo de Gaulle'a

ulica Foksal

The place I had to go was nowhere close to any of the renown Blikle stores and I wasn’t sure which one of them I’d drive to. As it was sunny and I had taken my camera with me I decided to go to the most famous one, right in the centre of town, to take more pictures of this area and where I hoped no one else would have decided to go, thinking precisely that the most central location would be flocked with people. Difficult to say if I was right or wrong; there was a crowd and the queue was even outside the entrance, but the staff had organised the flow of work very efficiently and the queue moved extremely smoothly. Plus I was busy looking for good angles to photograph inside and out. Most importantly, queueing, thus spending more time there, placed me at the right place at the right time, which I would have missed, had there been no queue.

śnieg na chodniku

Blikle z bramy na przeciwko

Once I had received my box of pączki and made my way through the crowd of newly arrived people who were joining the line on the sidewalk, all I needed to do was walk back to the car. I was busy closing my purse and realised there was a man speaking behind me, on my 8 o’clock. I had my eyes on the zipper of the bag and was therefore looking somewhat his direction but had no idea he was speaking to me. Not sure why but I raised my head at him and realised he was looking at me – although it could have been a misinterpretation on my side, he wasn’t acknowledging my raised head, as if I had been listening and looking before, or as if I had known he was speaking to me. His tone didn’t change, he just kept on talking, but nothing in his body language expect for a very normal smile implied he wanted my attention. He wasn’t trying to call out to me in any way, he was even speeding up and as I finally realised I was the addressee he had actually overtaken me. To the point that when I was replying, he was slightly ahead of me.

kolejka po pączki w tłusty czwartek

pączki tłusty czwartek

If I had written already what it was he was saying, you could say that what made me raise my head was pure feminine vanity but I actually think it was the fact that no one was replying to what he was saying and I just looked up out of curiosity, almost by chance. His words were pronounced in a very matter-of-factly tone, not quietly, but he really made no effort to make me realise he was speaking to me, so I still don’t understand the whole dynamic. What he said was very kind, to the point, no exaggerated adjectives, just very polite compliments in a few lines, or rather just few words, as the whole thing lasted maybe 20 seconds; but he complimented me in at least 3 aspects. I’m trying very had to remember exactly what he said and I just can’t quote his words, it’s simply not coming to me. Maybe it’s still a state of shock.

I’ve been complimented by strangers before, but never like this. So maybe that’s why. He evidently did not want anything else except to let me know his opinion, he really rushed of ahead of me, leaving me smiling and stupefied. Had he said those words in a club or bar, beach or party, or had he hang around for a reaction, or made any other typical male-female-interactions movements or gestures, I would have interpreted them as a pick up line. But it really wasn’t. It was an innocent exchange of thoughts, very flattering and sweet though, but expressed so down-to-earthly, that he could have been saying to me: oh you dropped your glove, have a nice day.

pączki Blikle Nowy Świat

Why all this fuss over a stranger complementing me on the street? Maybe because it just doesn’t happen so often; and which lady doesn’t like to be told she looks good, appeals to someone or has impressed him in some way? Or maybe it was more the form it took; very casual, no hidden agendas, sincere, convincing and effective. I’ve been told ‘beautiful’ in so many ways not making me feel neither beautiful nor flattered that I really believe there’s a right and a wrong way to do it.

I didn’t need more events to make my day, I was really already happy with the weather alone and with being in Warsaw. This incident though would have unquestionably made my day, if the weather was disgusting, if I were in my least favourite place and if I had just heard bad news. Maybe having this happen too often would not be so great, maybe it would take the surprise and charm out of it. After all, whatever is rarer is more precious and more desired. So I would not want to hear this every day, but I would definitely encourage all guys to be this way, the act this way, to say these things, whenever they feel them. At least to try. I’m not sure if my stranger does it frequently and I don’t really think it matters – not to me. I have no way of knowing if he says it to all the women he passes on the street; something tells me he doesn’t. What I know for sure is that if more women would have these moments happen to them more often, there would be many more happy women around, and happier women treat guys better. This is my unexpected Fat Thursday conclusion, and I guess to some of you this explains the title of the post;)pączki tłusty czwartek

trasa WZ tunel

Leave a comment